Announcing the 2016 Star Wars Reading Challenge!

I’ve always loved the Star Wars movie series but have never read the books. This weekend I saw The Force Awakens and I fell in love all over again on a much deeper level. I’ve decided to read the Star Wars books but it’s always more fun to read a series together, so I created a Star Wars reading challenge!
This challenge is also a little different because there are two optional TV series that are included. Also if you are like me, you are overwhelmed by the number of Star Wars books in the expanded universe. Don’t worry! I break it all down so you know where to begin.
There are three levels to this challenge. This challenge is also little different because you do not have to choose a level. If you are like me you will be reading books from all three levels. I simply wrote out different levels to help break down the expansive Star Wars universe. 
LEVEL 1: Read the Del Rey timeline books only. Watching the TV series and movies will be optional.  This list includes (and they are in order):
I: The Phantom Menace

II: Attack of the Clones
The Clone Wars (TV series)
Dark Disciple

III: Revenge of the Sith
Lords of the Sith
A New Dawn
Rebels (TV series)

IV: A New Hope
Heir to the Jedi
Battlefront: Twilight Company

V: The Empire Strikes Back

VI: Return of the Jedi
Aftermath: Life Debt
Aftermath: Empire’s End
New Republic: Bloodline

VII: The Force Awakens

LEVEL 2: Read the Del Rey timeline books, watch the TV series, and read the Star Wars series of books and comics that lead up to The Force Awakens.

Read the short stories that take place before The Force Awakens. The list of short stories include:

The Perfect Weapon

High Noon on Jakku

The Face of Evil

The Crimson Corsair and the Lost Treasure of Count Dooku

All Creatures Great and Small

Other books include:

Lost Stars (young adult)

Moving Target: A Princess Leia Adventure (junior novel)

Smuggler’s Run: A Han Solo & Chewbacca Adventure (junior novel)

The Weapon of a Jedi: A Luke Skywalker Adventure (junior novel)

Comics include:

Star Wars: Shattered Empire

Star Wars Special: C-3PO

There are also reference books, a collector’s magazine, and activity books. These will be optional. For the full list visit here.

LEVEL 3: Read the Stars Wars expanded universe books and comics

My mind is blown by how many Star Wars books there are. For a full chronological list of the novels, reference books, kids’ books and comics visit here. There are far too many for me to make a list!

Is there anything else I should know?

This challenge runs from Jan 1 – Dec 31, 2016.

Books DO NOT need to be reread! If you have finished a book before this challenge started it will count.

You may read books from ANY level and count them towards the challenge!

Books may be hard copies, ebooks, or audiobooks.

Books may count towards other reading challenges.

You do not need a blog to participate. You can sign up using any social media profile.

Please post, tweet, blog, pin, and Instagram about my challenge to spread the word.

Use the hashtag #2016StarWarsRC on social media